Meet the Producers-Ricky Kirshner

Yesterday, the DNCC announced that Ricky Kirshner and Mark Squier will serve as Executive Producers for the Democratic National Convention in August.

Click here to read the DNCC’s official announcement .

Ricky Kirshner has produced some of the biggest events in TV history including the 2007 Super Bowl halftime show, the Tony awards, GQ Man of the Year awards for NBC, the Rose Parade and of course Ricky was the Executive Producer to every Democratic National Convention since 1996.

We asked Ricky some questions to get his take on some of the most pressing issues of the day. Click here for Mark’s Q&A.

Ricky

Where did you grow up?
South Orange, NJ

Q: What was your first job?
A: Job?? Well, unpaid, I was a Page at the DNCC in 1976 in NYC. Then, an
intern at Good Morning America. First job out of college was as a Budget
Controller for ABC News 20/20

Q: You’re a busy New Yorker. What’s the best quick bite in Manhattan?
A: People that work with me would find this one pretty funny. I am very careful about what I eat and eat very plain food. So, I cant give you a great answer like some cart on a street corner or Papaya King. Its usually a turkey sandwich or a salad…sorry, boring answer. I’ll be at Jimmy Johns and Cheesecake Factory a lot in Denver.

Q: What drives you to get out of bed every morning?
A: My son usually jumps on me.

Q: What keeps you coming back to the Democratic Convention?
A: The excitement of doing an event this big and being watched by so many people. It’s what I love about what I do: live TV and live Events. The adrenaline rush of being on and hoping it all works. It is a function of a lot of preparation and working with a lot of great professionals.

Q: You’ve heard a lot of speeches over the years – presumably some better than others. In your opinion, how long is too long?
A: When the orchestra has to play you off, its too long. Elaine Stritch at the Tony Awards (she might still be talking) was too long.

Q: You’re normally a behind-the-scenes guy. If you were to star in a one-man show, what would it be called? And who would you ask to produce it?
A: My wife, Rina, would definitely produce it. She knows me better than
anyone, she understands my sense of humor and she knows what I’m really about. But, I must say, it would be pretty boring. When I’m not working I like to be home with my family. Usually wrestling with my son, or talking to my daughters. The soundtrack would be SPRINGSTEEN (told ya I was from Jersey).

The title of my one-man show: IF YOU SEE ME ON TV, SOMETHING WENT WRONG!!

I’m really a guy that likes to be behind the scenes.

2 Responses to Meet the Producers-Ricky Kirshner

Leave a comment